LEWISBERRY BOROUGH COUNCIL REORGANIZATION MEETING MONDAY, JANUARY 4, 2010

The meeting was called to order by Matthew Kiner, Mayor, leading in the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT

Mayor, Matthew Kiner; Mark Keener, Mary Pelton, Sandra Griffith, David Raugh, Daniel Soltis and Nora Sowers.

Also Present: Mary Ellen Banks - Borough Manager, and John Elliott - Solicitor.

PUBLIC PRESENT

Chief John Snyder, Newberry Township Police
Timothy Whitebread, Firewood ExtractorsTerry VonNieda, Lisburn CFC
William Thompson, Resident
Mike Carroll, Redland Girls Softball Assoc.Mark Albright, Matthew Miller, Jennifer Cassada;
Lewisberry Fire CompanyLisburn CFC
William Thompson, Resident

NEWLY ELECTED MEMBERS – OATH OF OFFICE

• Matthew Kiner, Mayor, administered the Oath of Office to newly elected Council Members, Mark Keener, Mary Pelton, Daniel Soltis and Nora Sowers.

NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF OFFICERS

- Mark <u>KEENER</u> nominated David Raugh for President of Borough Council. A unanimous vote was made by Council with David Raugh abstaining from the vote. Motion carried, 6-0.
- Daniel <u>SOLTIS</u> nominated Sandra Griffith for Vice President of Borough Council. A unanimous vote was made by Council with Sandra Griffith abstaining from the vote. Motion carried, 6-0.

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

• The Council appointed members to various boards and committees. A detailed list of the committees and current representatives is made part of these minutes. All appointments were made with a unanimous vote by Council with the motions carrying, 7-0.

• Mary <u>PELTON</u> made a motion which was seconded by Mark Keener to appoint Sandra Griffith to the electric committee and to appoint William Thompson as a non-paid consultant on the Electric Committee.

• Mark <u>KEENER</u> made a motion which was seconded by Sandra Griffith to appoint Jennifer Cassada as Emergency Management Coordinator.

• Mark <u>KEENER</u> made a motion which was seconded by Daniel Soltis to appoint Sandra Griffith to the Insurance Committee.

• Mary <u>PELTON</u> made a motion which was seconded by Sandra Griffith to appoint Nora Sowers and herself as liaisons to the Lewisberry Fire Company and to appoint Daniel Soltis as a trustee on the Lewisberry Fire Company Board of Trustees.

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS, CONTINUED

• Mary <u>PELTON</u> made a motion which was seconded by Mark Keener to appoint Sandra Griffith and Daniel Soltis to the Planning Committee.

• Daniel <u>SOLTIS</u> made a motion which was seconded by Mary Pelton to appoint Wayne Branyon and Robert Griffith to the Zoning Hearing Board.

• Daniel <u>SOLTIS</u> made a motion which was seconded by Mark Keener to make no changes to the Recreation Grounds Committee.

• Mark <u>KEENER</u> made a motion which was seconded by Mary Pelton to appoint Matthew Kiner, Mark Keener and Daniel Soltis to the Road Committee.

• Mary <u>PELTON</u> made a motion which was seconded by Daniel Soltis to appoint David Raugh as representative and Nora Sowers as alternate to the West Shore Recreation Commission.

• Sandra <u>GRIFFITH</u> made a motion which was seconded by Mary Pelton to appoint David Raugh as representative and Mark Keener as alternate to the York Adams Tax Bureau.

• Mary <u>PELTON</u> made a motion which was seconded by Daniel Soltis to appoint David Raugh as representative to the York County Boroughs' Association.

• Sandra <u>GRIFFITH</u> made a motion which was seconded by Mary Pelton to appoint Matthew Kiner as representative and David Raugh as alternate to the York County Planning Commission.

• Sandra <u>GRIFFITH</u> made a motion which was seconded by Nora Sowers to appoint George Craker as Lewisberry Borough Zoning Officer.

• Daniel <u>SOLTIS</u> made a motion which was seconded by Mary Pelton to appoint Mary Ellen Banks as representative and William Thompson as alternate to the TCC Committee.

• Until the Redland Community Corporation dissolution is finalized the Council is not making any changes to this Committee leaving two slots vacant at this time.

ADJOURNMENT

• A motion to adjourn was made by Daniel <u>SOLTIS</u> and was seconded by Nora Sowers. Motion carried, 7-0.